Welcome Dr. Margie Smith to the Cash Practice® Team!!!

I would like to introduce one of the newest members to the Cash Practice® team, Dr. Margie Smith.

Dr. Margie began here at Cash Practice® a few weeks ago and has had a very positive effect on our team already! In her first week here we replaced our traditional weekly staff meeting with an informative talk about Chiropractic and it’s philosophy. We love being constantly reminded about why it is we do what we do; Dr. Margie Smith really gave us a very powerful message. She really made us feel even luckier to be able to help chiropractors  in the mission to take care of as many people as they possibly can. In addition to helping us stay in tune and focused on the chiropractic message, she is helping with the sales efforts here.

Dr. Margie Smith is a very successful Chiropractor who has had not one, but two successful practices. She sold her practice to focus on being a brand new mom, yet still remains very active in the chiropractic profession. After seeing Dr. Bodzin at a CORE San Diego meeting and learning that he was looking to hire “chiropractically oriented individuals”, she joined the team in what she has called “Pure destiny!”.

Thanks to Dr. Margie Smith, the Cash Practice® Staff has learned even more motivating information about chiropractic and plenty of health tidbits (the staff can all be seen drinking ginger water now). We are sure Dr. Bodzin loves having someone in the office who is able to give him his weekly adjustments also! The following questions are to help you get to know her and hear some of her amazing advice!

 

How did you first become involved with Cash Practice?

Joining the Cash Practice team was a no-brainer for me!  Since we welcomed our first child, Kasia, into our family, I have always kept my mind open to what kind of work I can do to contribute to the profession, and stay home with her.  At Cash Practice, I’m able to have the best of both worlds – contributing to Chiropractic through a powerhouse company and be there for all the big milestones in Kasia’s life.  In the couple weeks I have been apart of the team, I can say I have already learned so much and feel my creativity kicked into high gear.  Everyone on the team is so positive, focused, on purpose, which is contagious!

What do you do here at Cash Practice?

Heading up some of the sales efforts and organization and continuing to build strong relationships for Cash Practice in the Chiropractic community.

How did you become a Chiropractor?

I was a Chemistry major at Purdue University and one semester, while I was registering for the next semester classes, I asked my counselor what some career options were with my degree.  He said a strong option was to go to Medical School.  I had a very strong reaction to his suggestion – I thought I was going to vomit! Not because I or anyone I love has ever had a bad medical experience, but I felt strongly that I was not a fit for the medical philosophy on health.  I did enjoy the idea of working with and helping people so I researched every other health care profession and after lots of shadowing Chiropractic offices, I was sure this was the profession for me!  I gave myself at least a year in Chiropractic college before I decided either way if I would move forward, but I was hooked from the moment I began college.  Although challenging at times, I loved Chiropractic college and absolutely love being a Chiropractor!  My family and I are healthier, happier, and stronger people b/c of Chiropractic!

What motivates you?

My parents are Polish immigrants who always instilled a strong work ethic throughout me and my brother’s lives.  When my father moved to the US, he didn’t speak English and had few friends or family who were established in America.  Today, he has successfully owned and operated a machine shop for the last 26 years.  My mother works side by side with him to ensure the business runs smoothly.  My parents’ journey not only gives me a huge sense of pride, but also motivates me to do my best everyday.  I have been given an amazing life because my parents worked so hard and overcame huge obstacles.  My hope is that one day, our daughter will look at my husband, Lauren, and I with the same motivation and inspiration.

What are your other interests?

I love to laugh!  My husband, Lauren, is one of the funniest people I know and our daughter, Katherine, cracks us up every day!  I love funny movies, stupid humor, and silly jokes.  I love to entertain and have a house full of people.  I love to cook, try new recipes, and learn new cooking tips and techniques.  I’m not a great baker yet – I’m working on it.  I enjoy being outdoors – I like to play volleyball, rollerblade, run, take long walks on the beach, go to farmer’s markets – I’m up for anything!

It probably sounds cheesy, but I love being from a strong cultural background.  One fun fact most people don’t know about me is that English was not my first language, even though I was born and raised in Chicago, IL.  Until we started elementary school, my brother and I only spoke Polish.  We went to Polish school, had Polish friends, ate Polish food, even had My Big Fat POLISH Wedding.  My family has given me a lifetime of material if I ever want to start a career as a stand-up comic – plus my brother and I have perfected our Polish accents over the years!  Our daughter, Katherine or Kasia (“Katie” in Polish), only hears me speak Polish to her b/c I would love to pass along our family’s culture to her.

What would you say has been your greatest accomplishment in the profession?

One of my proudest accomplishments is opening a Chiropractic practice right after I graduated from Logan.  It was my first full time job ever to have my own business and I am so thankful I chose to open a practice right away.  My first practice, Total Balance Chiropractic, was very active in the Chicagoland community – we even won the Outstanding Community Service Award from our neighborhood’s Chamber of Commerce!

What advice would you give to any new DC’s starting out?

Get to know your fellow Chiropractors.  Networking and mentoring are key in a successful career.  Not only do you feel involved and included, but you can also learn so much from other Chiropractors in practice.  You naturally will become who you surround yourself with so choose the best of the best.  Our sense of “family” is one of the things I love most about being a Chiropractor.

What advice would you give to any CA’s?

Learn to be a sponge.  Chiropractors are a pretty passionate bunch and we constantly want to share all of our knowledge with our team members.  CAs are an extension of the doctors – what you say and do are as if the doctor is saying or doing it.  So make sure you know what you are talking about and be willing and open to new philosophies and ideas.  Make sure you are strong and commanding b/c even Chiropractors need a reminder to stay on our purpose everyday.  Be impeccable with your word, don’t take anything personally, don’t make any assumptions, and DO YOUR BEST! (Don Miguel Ruiz’s Four Agreements).

Dr. Margie Smith as a Flower Girl

Dr. Margie, her husband Lauren, and their daughter Kasia


 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment